Love + Adventure = Happiness

I am currently reading a book called “Into the Wild” by Jon Krakauer and this paragraph in the book intothewildmade me pause and ponder.

“So many people live within unhappy circumstances and yet will not take the initiative to change their situation because they are conditioned to a life of security, conformity, and conservatism, all of which may appear to give one peace of mind, but in reality nothing is more damaging to the adventurous spirit within a man than a secure future. The very basic core of a man’s living spirit is his passion for adventure. The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.”

IMG_1771This reminded me of Jeremy whom I met about 10 years ago. He was in his 30’s and worked in the military service. He was slightly shorter than me, but fairly built, that “all-American” type with piercing blue eyes that puts a spell on you.

v3-pg-12-blue-eyes-rex

Although I have a “no sex on first date” policy, I was so turned on by his military trained rock hard physique so I violated this policy. Sex was so loud that I heard our neighbors giggling during. I usually get very vulnerable staying naked after cumming and post-sex chitchats are always awkward. But, his eyes, again, distracted me and we cuddled, as he told me about this three important passions in life: friendship, adventure, and love. He has traveled to many different countries and lived in some places while he was stationed. He spoke in conviction (with his blue eyes) about friendships and how he stayed loyal to many people he has met worldwide.

letstravel

As an introvert, it is extremely challenging for me to talk to people. During the entire plane ride, I mostly keep to myself sitting next to a passenger I don’t know. When I am out at bars, I tend to mingle with my friends rather than trying to meet new people. But, if someone does approach me, people find me very easy to talk to.

Jeremy’s definition of happiness was the most simplistic view yet the most important core principles to live by daily. He inspired me to be more adventurous and dip my toes in the extroverted world. For the past 10 years, I visited at least one new city every year and during the travel, I did at least one new adventurous activity like parasailing, snorkling, water-skiing, skydiving, and zip-lining. I always return home from these trips feeling more confident and enlightened. 

adventure

Jeremy eventually moved to California and we occasionally have phone sex. We also exchange Christmas cards every year.

One thought on “Love + Adventure = Happiness

Leave a Reply

