Are you gonna get lucky tonight?

I used to get scared when a stranger flirts with me, particularly if it’s blunt.

I used to go to a particular grocery store regularly and the deli guy always helped me with half pound of honey glazed turkey. Every time I saw him, he always had a bright smile which I assumed was customer service strategy. But one day, it was exceptional smile when he kept staring me throughout the store. First I thought it was creepy, but he seemed harmless. When I got to the counter, he told me he liked my tennis shoes. He was a wrestler and had the “dumb jock” look. He then guessed my ethnicity and started to talk to me in my ethnic language. He gave me his number and told me that he would allow me to handle his meat. I never called him.

6a00d8341c730253ef00e5538847cb8834-640wi

Another time, I was on my way to a gay bar and took a cab. I got in the cab and the driver asked where I was going. He looked like he was in his 50’s with gray hair, heavy build, and sounded like an Italian.

After learning that I was going to a gay bar, he asked if I was to get lucky tonight. He asked with a creepy smirky facial expression, raising his one eye brow through the rearview mirror.

“Lucky? I….. I don’t know. I don’t plan…. to get lucky. Luck happens at the right time at a right place.”

“Well you’re going to get lucky tonight.” As the cab arrived at the destination. “you call me when you leave and I will give you a ride home. I will give a REAL ride.”

00796f39d525d9f4a00eb7bee5368f90_650x

I could not decide if I was turned on or disgusted. I stormed out of the cab and I didn’t get lucky that night.

2 thoughts on “Are you gonna get lucky tonight?

Leave a Reply

