Why did the cock cross the road?

I went to a Lunar New Year Party last night. All of my gaysian friends gathered to celebrate by eating tons of food and drinking wine. It’s a bonus to be an Asian to celebrate new year twice a year. 

I don’t usually do new year resolutions, but I am thinking about what I can do differently this year. As I was accompanied by nine Asian-white happy couples at the party, I decided that this year I will not focus much on dating. This is after another frustrating dating experience I had earlier this week.

I have been on Tinder for a while and there are 242 matches on my list, which barely anyone chats. Most of them are into the game of swiping rather than actually chatting with people. I did connect with one guy, Patrick, almost year ago and not only we chatted, we actually swapped phone numbers to exchange silly humor texts, which lead to innocent flirty texts with some G-rated photos. He is 10 years younger than me, super short, like 5’5”, and an adorable smile. Despite the momentum of flirty texts, Patrick ghosted.

ghosting

About 2 weeks ago, I accidentally texted Patrick when I was trying to text a friend with the same name, asking what he was doing for the weekend. 

Next thing I know, Patrick and I made dinner plans. To be honest, I wasn’t excited about it, but I didn’t know how to back out of it. On the day of, he texted me to cancel the date. I was actually happy with this as I wanted to catch up on Fuller House on Netflix. We then rescheduled the date this past Wednesday, which is my usual spin class day. I decided that I’d give Patrick a chance because there is always a spin class next week and I Netflix allows to watch shows any time I want.

So I showed up to the dinner date few minutes before our date, so I sat at the bar with a glass of Sauvion Blanc. I texted him to let him know I was at the bar waiting. Fifteen minutes past and I texted him again to see if he was on his way, but no response. Thirty minutes past and I had finished by second glass of wine. I sat there feeling like a total loser and all the negative feelings flooded, particularly after experience this before. Read that story: mom > BF

Although I wasn’t that excited to meet Patrick, rejection still hurts. I think I was more upset that I missed the spin class. Also, according to China Highlights  Patrick (rabbit) and I (horse) are the worst match, despite the Tinder match.

Out of 242 Tinder matches, one I matched and made plans year after we started chatting, has rejected me before we could even meet. That seems so depressing and I have decided to delete my Tinder app.

img_5782

I might also delete Grindr and OkCupid too. Happy year of cock!  May the new year be full of them.

877019_1

2 thoughts on “Why did the cock cross the road?

Leave a comment